2020 Preceptors of the Year

By Nick Nobel
August 14, 2020

P4 students in each of the college’s five experiential regions chose a local Preceptor of the Year for 2020 based on their rotations during the 2019-20 academic year:

Dr. Kristin Janzen

Kristin Janzen, Pharm.D.

Dell Seton Medical Center, Austin


Dallas/Fort Worth

Rashona Thomas, Pharm.D.

VA Medical Center, Dallas


Ruegger in a lab coat smiling.

Melanie Ruegger, Pharm.D.

Houston Methodist Hospital


Rio Grande Valley

Marcos Reyes, Pharm.D.

Doctors Hospital Renaissance


Dr. Rebecca Moote headshot
San Antonio

Rebecca Moote, Pharm.D.

University Health System

From this list of five outstanding practitioner preceptors, the Wm. Arlyn Kloesel Preceptor of the Year award winner was chosen by past recipients of this same award. The 2020 recipient is Kristin Janzen, Pharm.D.

Kristin earned her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from The University of Texas at Austin in 2015. During her tenure at the college, she was active in student organizations and served as president of Pharmacy Council. She completed a combined PGY1 and PGY2 residency at Indiana University Health and Butler University, after which time she worked as a clinical pharmacy specialist in internal medicine at Indiana University Health Methodist Hospital, and an assistant professor of pharmacy practice at Butler University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. She currently serves as clinical assistant professor at the UT Austin College of Pharmacy, and a clinical pharmacy specialist in internal medicine at Dell Seton Medical Center.

Congratulations to Kristin Janzen and to all of our regional award winners!

News category:
Research areas: