Ginsburg Accepts Whitney Award at ASHP Pharmacy Futures 2024

By Nick Nobel
June 19, 2024
Dr. Diane Ginsburg accepting an award and speaking at a podium

The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) honored Associate Dean for Healthcare Partnerships Diane B. Ginsburg, Ph.D., M.S., R.Ph., FASHP by awarding her the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award during the organization's annual Pharmacy Futures meeting in Portland, Oregon last week.

"It is truly an honor to represent and be a part of Texas Pharmacy," said Ginsburg while accepting her award, which serves as ASHP's highest honor. "I am grateful and appreciative of the leadership and support from my colleagues and students at The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy. Hook ‘em Horns!"

Ginsburg is a past president of ASHP and the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists. She also served as Chair of the ASHP Foundation Board of Directors. She was an integral part of the team that launched the ASHP National Clinical Skills Competition and was the competition coordinator for four years.

Dr. Ginsburg completed her B.S. in Pharmacy at the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy and M.S. at the University of Houston College of Pharmacy. She completed a two-year ASHP-accredited residency in hospital pharmacy administration at The Methodist Hospital in Houston, Texas and received her Doctor of Philosophy degree in higher education administration and leadership in the College of Education at The University of Texas at Austin.

She is currently Clinical Professor in the Pharmacy Practice Division, Associate Dean for Healthcare Partnerships and G.D. Searle Endowed Fellow in Pharmacy at Texas Pharmacy. She is an adjunct instructor in the Drug Enforcement Administration Teaching Academy and a Gallup-Certified Strengths Coach and is internationally known for her work on ethics and the legal and regulatory aspects of pharmacy and healthcare.

ASHP has administered the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award since 1963. The award recognizes significant contributions to the advancement of pharmacy practice. Nominations for the award are made by past recipients and ASHP members. The winner is selected by a majority vote of past honorees.