Recipients of the Dr. Carolyn Brown DEAI Champion Award

March 2, 2022

The College of Pharmacy's Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, & Inclusion (DEAI) committee announces the winners of the 2021-2022 Dr. Carolyn Brown DEAI Champion Awards. The nomination and decision process is highly selective, and each of this year’s awardees received glowing nominations and praise.

These DEAI Champions have demonstrated exceptional efforts and continue to make significant contributions to creating a more diverse, equitable, accessible and inclusive culture within the college and beyond through their excellent service, teaching, research and/or academic endeavors.

A woman crossing her arms and smiling.

Dr. Jamie Barner
Faculty Award Winner

During Dr. Barner’s tenure with the College of Pharmacy, she has consistently demonstrated a strong passion for DEAI and desires to make sure all are included. She has been a mentor for numerous junior faculty members and students of color and continues to be a strong role model within her position as the head of the Division of Health Outcomes. She is currently co-advisor for the college's Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA) chapter, an advisory board member of the Building Our Own Talent (BOOT) program, and a member of the university's Council for Racial and Ethnic Equity and Diversity (CREED).


A woman in front of some bushes.

Rebecca Schwarz
Staff Award Winner

Rebecca Schwarz works with a very diverse student and research population in the college's Division of Molecular Pharmaceutics and Drug Delivery (MPDD). Her interactions within MPDD and throughout the college have always been welcoming and friendly. In 2021, Rebecca initiated an art series known as the Global Social Club’s Brown Bag Art Lunch. This has helped faculty, staff and students with various backgrounds build a community and attend to their mental well-being.


A woman smiling.

Megan Yeung
Student Award Winner

Megan Yeung is a third-year student pharmacist and an active member of the DEAI committee. As a committee member, she constantly advocates for her peers and participates in various activities to promote DEAI. In addition, she is also the leader of the Project Collaborate Initiative within the Pharmacy Council and the College of Pharmacy. Through these efforts, she has overseen health screenings that have served nearly 10,000 members of the Austin community.

News category: