News and Highlights - Health Outcomes

Announcements and Accomplishments

Dr. Tish Moczygemba

Dr. Leticia R. Moczygemba selected as inaugural member of UT Research Leaders Academy for the 23-24 academic year

The Research Leaders Academy is a partnership between the Office of the Vice President for Research, Scholarship and Creative Endeavors and the Office of the Executive Vice-President and Provost. "It is designed for established principal investigators who aspire to lead, or who are already leading, large-scale research initiatives. Faculty fellows will learn how to scope a large-scale, shared scholarly vision with colleagues, how to secure external support to realize that shared vision, and how to successfully implement and manage their vision."

Dr. Chanhyun Park

Dr. Chanhyun Park is being awarded the AIM-AHEAD Fellowship in Leadership

The National Institutes of Health (NIH)’s Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning Consortium to Advance Health Equity and Researcher Diversity (AIM-AHEAD) program fosters partnerships to enhance representation of researchers and communities underrepresented in the development of AI/ML models. Its goal is to improve the capabilities of this emerging technology to address health disparities and inequities. This Leadership Fellowship is designed to cultivate the next generation of leaders skilled in using AI/ML to confront health disparities and inequities. Dr. Park’s project will focus on developing ML prediction models for cardiovascular morbidity and mortality among Texas residents with cancer from diverse socio-economic backgrounds.

Retirement and Emeritus Status

Congratulations to Drs. Ken Lawson and Karen Rascati on their retirements and being recognized as Professor Emeritus Faculty in Pharmacy. This distinguished title is a lifetime academic appointment and honors them and their exemplary service to the Division, College, University, nation, and world.

Drs. Ken Lawson and Jamie Barner hugging at podium
Dr. Karen Rascati speaking at podium at retirement event


Division News

September is Sickle Cell Disease Awareness Month

Dr. Jamie Barner and her team (Barner Babes) raised over $2,000, gave blood, and shared their research on Facebook Live.

Please view the PDF slides for photos and research from the team.

ISPOR Outstanding Student Chapter Award, June 23, 2022

The UT Austin student chapter of ISPOR (the leading professional society for health economics and outcomes research (HEOR) globally) received the outstanding student chapter award.  Congratulations to the officers, faculty advisor, and members!

ISPOR Outstanding Student Chapter award (UT-ISPOR Officers: President Elham Heidari, Vice President Andrew Wash, Treasurer Rana Zalmai, President-Elect Ben Wong, Secretary Shuang Chen, Pharmacy Council Rep Yi-Shao Liu, Faculty Advisor Dr. Rascati)
Health Outcomes Student Internships, Summer 2022

Health Outcomes Division graduate students are participating in exciting internships this summer:

Shuang Chen
Pharmacoepidemiology Summer Intern
New York (Virtual)

Shuang Chen

Emma Gugala
Data Science Intern focused on postpartum depression screening and treatment

Emma Gugala

Elham Heidari


Yi-Shao Liu
HEOR Strategy Intern
Novo Nordisk
New Jersey

Yi-Shao Liu
Health Outcomes ISPOR 2022 Reception, May 16, 2022

It was great to see friends and alumni at ISPOR this year. We are all still smiling at the re-connections made!

Health Outcomes ISPOR Reception 2022


Health Outcomes ISPOR 2022 Presentations, May 15-18, 2022

HOD faculty, fellows, and students attended the 2022 ISPOR Conference (The Professional Society for Health Economics and Outcomes Research).  Division presentations included both posters and podia (view presentation list).

Selected division posters from ISPOR 2022 are available to view and download.

Student presenting poster at ISPOR 2022


Student presenting at ISPOR 2022 podium


Fellow presenting poster at ISPOR 2022
Health Outcomes Graduate Student Celebration, May 6, 2022

Each year, HOD recognizes graduate student accomplishments and celebrates those achievements. They have also participated in mentoring graduate students, attending workshops, assuming leadership positions in college and national organizations, as well as providing service in many other areas. See below for highlights:

Accomplishments of Health Outcomes graduate students (29 posters, 5 podia, 15 manuscripts, 5 awards)
Health Outcomes graduate student celebration group photo


Students at Health Outcomes graduate student celebration
TxCORE Outstanding Graduate Student Award, May 6, 2022

This award is given to a graduating doctoral student who has achieved excellence in the areas of research, teaching, and service.  

Winner: Hanxi “Molly” Zhang:

Co-Supervisors: Jamie C. Barner and Leticia R. Moczygemba

Finalists: Chinelo Orji, Yogesh Vohra

Supervisor: Carolyn M. Brown

Also pictured, Mike Johnsrud, TxCORE Executive Director

Hanxi Zhang receiving TxCORE student award


Hanxi Zhang with Drs. Moczygemba, Barner, and Johnsrud


TxCORE award finalists with Dr. Brown and Dr. Johnsrud

Health Outcomes Division Updates

Opioid Prescribing and Outcomes in Patients With Sickle Cell Disease Post–2016 CDC Guideline

A group of normal cells mixed with sickle cells.
April 2, 2024
The Division of Health Outcomes' Dr. Hyeun Ah Kang, Dr. Jamie Barner, Yahan Zhang, et al. recently published their investigation in JAMA Internal Medicine examining changes in opioid prescribing patterns and health outcomes among patients with SCD before and after the release of the 2016 CDC guideline.

Moczygemba Awarded PhRMA Foundation Grant for Sleep Tracking Research

Dr. Moczygemba wearing a necklace and smiling.
Dec. 7, 2023
Professor of Health Outcomes Dr. Leticia Moczygemba was awarded a planning grant to test and validate wearable sleep tracking sensors to improve health outcomes for people experiencing homelessness (PEH).

Texas Pharmacy Students Clinch Multiple Awards from AFPE

Pharmacy building on UT campus
Aug. 28, 2023
Several graduate students and a Pharm.D. student from The University of Texas College of Pharmacy secured awards and fellowships from the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education (AFPE).